Saturday, September 13, 2008

Andre Watts To Perform With Cincinnati Orchestra

The Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra is rolling out the red carpet for the “Mega-Watt” opening of its blockbuster 2008-2009 season at historic Music Hall
on Friday, September 12 and Saturday, September 13 at 8 p.m.
Fresh off a phenomenal season and hugely successful European tour in April that saw sold-out concert halls in Paris, Madrid, Vienna, Munich and Amsterdam, Music Director Paavo Jarvi kicks off the new season with works by celebrated composers Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninoff and the return of legendary pianist Andre Watts to the Music Hall stage.
According to The
New York Times, Mr. Watts “can actually make the piano roar, sob, even giggle when the mood so demands. It is an impressive gift.”A post-concert “Afterglow” party will be held in the lobby following both performances.
“I am so thrilled to be back in Cincinnati, and I’m very much looking forward to this season,” said CSO Music Director Paavo Jarvi. “We have a fantastic roster of guest artists and conductors joining us throughout the season, and we begin with a program showcasing the tremendous talent of Andre Watts.”
The concerts open with Tchaikovsky’s Festival Coronation March, followed by Mr. Watts performing Rachmaninoff’s hugely popular Piano Concerto No. 2, a work celebrated for its soaring melodies, lush orchestration and exceedingly difficult piano part.
“I have a very strong weakness for Rachmaninoff’s music. I love the language – I love the sentiment of it. I love the kind of directness and type of beauty that is not suppressed. It is a beauty that just oozes out of you,” said Mr. Jarvi.
This exciting concert program closes with Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances, a work Mr. Jarvi regards as a 20th century masterpiece. Symphonic Dances is the Russian master’s final composition, and ultimately evokes the struggle between death and everlasting life. --

No comments: