Monday, May 17, 2010

Listening Post--Bruckner review

The Buffalo News
Published: May 16, 2010

Bruckner, Symphony No. 7 and Symphony No. 9, both performed by the Frankfurt Radio Symphony conducted by Paavo Jarvi (both discs from SONY/RCA). “I love Bruckner,” reports the great 47-year-old Estonian/American conductor at the beginning of these discs of his new Bruckner cycle. “I have an affinity for his music.” And you can print all that in italics or neon or whatever accentuating device you wish because these two Bruckner recordings are absolutely extraordinary— and helped in no small measure by the Super Audio sound. The seventh symphony was the most acclaimed during Bruckner’s lifetime and the ninth was left unfinished (its fourth and final movement) when the composer died in 1896. Everything about Jarvi’s Bruckner is spectacular, from opening pianissimos to the “dancing mountains” of the magnificent scherzo of the ninth. These two discs augur a remarkable cycle from a composer who has already engendered more than a few. ★★★★(Jeff Simon)

No comments: