Tuesday, May 15, 2007

CONCERT REVIEW: La Jolla Music Society

La Jolla Village News > Arts & Entertainment
Friday, May 11, 2007

La Jolla Music Society presented maestro Paavo Jarvi and the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra Thursday, April 19 at Copley Symphony Hall. Violinist Leonidas Kavakos played Johannes Brahms’ Violin Concerto in D Minor, Opus 77, and the collaboration between Jarvi, the orchestra and soloist could not have been more thrilling or simpatico.
Following the interval, the orchestra played Hector Berlioz’ Symphonie Fantastique, Opus 14. Jarvi appeared to have a jolly good time with his players, exhorting, cajoling and producing breathtaking work filled with power, precision and finesse.
Individual players — especially oboe Shea Scruggs and English horn Christopher Philpotts — and sections shone, and the playing elicited such vociferous audience response that Jarvi and his considerable group played an encore to end a magnificent evening in the concert hall.

No comments: