Monday, October 31, 2005

Party with Paavo as College Nite at the CSO Kicks Off November 11

First the orchestra, then the band!

College Nite at the CSO is back for its fifth season. This popular concert with after-party event just for college students includes a Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra performance at Music Hall led by Paavo Järvi, post-concert party in Corbett Tower with free food, live band, prizes, cash bar and the opportunity to mingle with Paavo Jarvi, guest artists and members of the CSO. College Nite at the CSO kicks off November 11 at 8 pm with Janine Jansen, a gifted young violinist making her U.S. debut performing the Violin Concerto in D Major by Tchaikovsky. Additional College Nite events are scheduled for January 14 and March 4, 2006.

College Nite at the CSO is a fun and affordable experience. College Nites also generate awareness of the CSO’s $10 student ticket for all CSO concerts. More than 2,000 students have participated in College Nite at the CSO since its inception in 2001.

Learn more about the music at Classical Conversations one hour before the concert. Classical Conversations, a series of engaging pre-concert discussions, will be hosted by Paul Patterson, CSO violinist (November 11); Betsy Wiseman, Curator of European Art for Cincinnati Art Museum (January 14); and CSO Associate Conductor John Morris Russell (March 4). Classical Conversations are presented by Joseph-Beth Booksellers.

Each College Nite after-party in Music Hall’s Corbett Tower features a live local band. This season’s lineup is The Gregory Morris Group (November 11); John Zappa Quartet (January 14); and iZUMBA! (March 4).

Student tickets are $10 and are available the week of the concert in person at the CSO Sales Office, over the phone at 513-744-3590, or online at (limit two tickets per valid student ID).

Friday, November 11, 8 pm

Sibelius: Tapiola
Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D Major (Janine Jansen, violin)
Nielsen: Symphony No. 6 (Sinfonia semplice)

Saturday, January 14, 8 pm

Britten: Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes
Ravel: Piano Concerto for Left Hand in D Minor (Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano)
Hindemith: Mathis der Maler

Saturday, March 4, 8 pm

Weber: Overture to Euryanthe
Brahms: Concerto for Violin and Cello in A Minor, Double (Christian Tetzlaff, violin;
Tanja Tetzlaff, cello)
Schumann: Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major (Rhenish)

No comments: