Thursday, September 24, 2009

Breathtaking Forces Takes the Music Hall Stage for Three Concerts

Paavo Jarvi and the CSO are joined by violinist Alina Pogostkina and the May Festival Chorus

Paavo Jarvi, conductor
Alina Pagostkina, violin
May Festival Chorus, Robert Porco, director

Breathtaking Forces Program:

RICHARD STRAUSS Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche, Op. 28
ERKKI-SVEN TÜÜR Symphony No. 7 (U.S. Premiere)
TCHAIKOVSKY Concerto in D Major for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 35
BORODIN Polovtsian Dances from Prince Igor

CINCINNATI—On the heels of the sold-out "Sizzling Hot Opener" on September 17, Paavo Jarvi and the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra welcome celebrated violinist Alina Pogostkina and the world-renowned May Festival Chorus to the Music Hall stage for a concert program dubbed Breathtaking Forces. Performances are Friday, September 25 and Saturday, September 26 at 8 p.m., with a special "Pathways" series matinee on Sunday, September 27 at 3 p.m.

Described as "a natural talent that is rare indeed," rising star violinist Pogostkina performs the fiery Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto. Richard Strauss's roguish Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks and Borodin's Polovtisan Dances from Prince Igor with the massive May Festival forces round out this program, which also features the U.S. premiere of Symphony No. 7 by Maestro Jarvi's Estonian countryman and frequent collaborator, Erkki-Sven Tüür.

The Strauss and Borodin works will not be performed on Sunday, September 27, as part of the CSO's new "Pathways" series of shortened concerts with interactive post-concert talk-backs. WGUC's Mark Perzel will serve as the moderator for the talk-back session.

Audiences are invited to learn more about the music at Classical Conversations one hour before each of the performances on Friday, September 25. and Saturday, September 26.

The CSO is grateful to US Bank for sponsoring these concerts.

No comments: