Monday, August 27, 2007

Listen to Paavo's Podcast

Beethoven Fest | 27.08.2007
Beethoven: Concerto for Piano (Violin) in D Major, Op. 61
Großansicht des Bildes mit der Bildunterschrift: Pianist Olli Mustonen and conductor Paavo Järvi performed the concerto
Deutsche Welle presents a selection of complimentary recordings from the 2007 Beethovenfest in Bonn.

Ludwig van Beethoven's Violin Concert in D Major, Op. 61 is among the most popular and well known works in the genre. The version for piano and orchestra, on the other hand, is relatively unfamiliar.

Inspired by the pianist and composer Muzio Clementi, Beethoven rewrote Opus 61 for piano in 1807, adding two quite virtuosic cadences.

Finnish pianist Olli Mustonen, accompanied by the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, performed Beethoven's piano concerto on Aug. 26 in the Beeethovenhalle Bonn as part of this year's Beethovenfest. Paavo Järvi conducted.

The first movement, Allegro ma non troppo, is available as podcast or audio-on-demand.

By Klaus Gehrke

No comments: