Friday, November 09, 2007

CSO serves up more Stravinsky

November 8, 2007

The Cincinnati Post

The CSO led by music director Paavo Järvi continues its focus on Igor Stravinsky with his 1945 Symphony in Three Movements at 8 p.m. Friday and Saturday at Music Hall.
Soloist will be CSO principal cellist Eric Kim in Shostakovich's Cello Concerto No. 1, to be performed in memory of Mstislav Rostropovich. The great Russian cellist (for whom the concerto was written) died last spring.

The concert opens with Haydn's Symphony No. 98.
Though written during Stravinsky's "neo-classic" period when he revisited classical and baroque forms, the material used in his Symphony in Three Movements reflects that of his early ballets like "The Rite of Spring."
Following Saturday's concert, there will be a "Bohemian Bash" in the Music Hall foyer, which will be transformed into a Parisian café recalling Stravinsky's years in the French capital. Admission is free to ticketholders and will include live jazz by the Faux Frenchmen, beverages and desserts.
Come at 7 p.m. Friday or Saturday and learn more about Stravinsky and the program in a pre-concert "Classical Conversation" by Joel Hoffman, professor of composition at the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music, and CSO assistant conductor Eric Dudley.
Tickets are $12-$75.25, $10 for students, half-price for seniors. Call (513) 381-3300, or order online at

Half-price tickets are available between 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. concert days at the CSO box office in Music Hall.
The CSO Chamber Players conclude the CSO's two-week "Stravinsky Festival" at 7:30 p.m. Nov. 16 at Memorial Hall with his theater piece "L'histoire du soldat," narrated by Stacey Woolley. Järvi is saving the "big bang," Stravinsky's "Rite of Spring," for the final concerts of the CSO season May 2 and 3 at Music Hall.

No comments: