Saturday, November 10, 2007

Paavo to receive the Cincinnati MacDowell Medal

November 8, 2007
The Cincinnati Post

Bravos to Järvi, who will receive the Cincinnati MacDowell Medal Sunday afternoon at CCM. The award, by the Cincinnati MacDowell Society, is made on an occasional basis to those "whose cultural contributions to the arts in the Cincinnati area are deemed most significant."
Järvi is only the 24th recipient in the society's 94-year history. Past honorees include artist John Ruthven, dancer/choreographer Frederic Franklin, opera bass Italo Tajo, Cincinnati Pops conductor Erich Kunzel and CSO music directors Max Rudolf and Jesus Lopez-Cobos.
Named in honor of American composer Edward MacDowell, the Cincinnati MacDowell Society is one of 13 groups in the United States that help support the MacDowell Artists' Colony in New Hampshire.
The Colony itself received the National Medal of Arts in 1997 for its nurture and support of creative artists including Thornton Wilder, Aaron Copland, Alice Walker and Leonard Bernstein.
By Mary Ellyn Hutton at

No comments: